1. About
  2. Governance

The Canada Council for the Arts, a federal Crown corporation, is accountable to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage and is governed by an 11-member Board.

The Canada Council would like to thank all the artists and arts organizations who contributed images to this video.
View the artists and artwork featured in the video.


Our Mandate

The Canada Council for the Arts is Canada’s public arts funder, with a mandate :

To foster and promote the study and enjoyment of, and the production of works in, the arts

The Council champions and invests in artistic excellence through a broad range of grants, services, prizes and payments to professional Canadian artists and arts organizations. Its work ensures that excellent, vibrant and diverse art and literature engages Canadians, enriches their communities and reaches markets around the world.

The Council also raises public awareness and appreciation of the arts through its communications, research and arts promotion activities. It is responsible for the Canadian Commission for UNESCO which promotes the values and programs of UNESCO in Canada to contribute to a more peaceful, equitable and sustainable future. The Canada Council Art Bank operates art rental programs and helps further public engagement with contemporary arts.

See the Canada Council's Corporate Policies.

Board Members

The Board consists of the Chair, Vice-Chair and nine other members from across Canada. Along with the Director and CEO, members are appointed by the Governor in Council for fixed terms. The Governor in Council Selection Process is open, transparent, and merit-based to encourage continued trust in Canada’s democracy and ensure the integrity of its public institutions. The Board meets at least three times a year and is responsible for the oversight of the organization’s policies, programs, budgets and grant decisions.

Chair, Pierre Lassonde C.M., G.O.Q.
Vice-Chair, Nathalie Bondil, C.M., C.Q.
David Binet
Jennifer Dorner
Beverley K. Foy
Cheryl Hickman
Yann Martel
Ben Nind
Karl Schwonik
Kim Spencer-Nairn
Jesse Wente

Learn more about our Board members

Director and CEO: Simon Brault

The Canada Council for the Arts is organized in four main divisions, led by Director Generals that form the Executive Management Committee and report directly to the CEO. They are: Arts Granting Programs, Communications and Public Engagement, Corporate Services and Strategy and Public Affairs. The CEO also oversees the Canadian Commission for UNESCO.

Learn more about our CEO

Annual Public Meeting

The public is invited to attend the Council’s Annual Public Meeting (APM) each year. The meeting is livestreamed on the Council’s website and the public can also participate through social media.

Learn more about the APM