1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Canada-Japan Literary Awards

NOTE: Due to the impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, we have extended the deadline for submitting nominations for these prizes to September 1, 2020. However, this means our administrative processes, including nomination assessments and announcement of results, may be delayed.

Canada-Japan Literary Awards

Canada-Japan Literary Awards winners Kerri Sakamoto and Jacynthe Tremblay

Current winners: Kerri Sakamoto (top) and Jacynthe Tremblay (bottom)

Photo: Daniel Tisch (top) / Arupusu Shashinkan (bottom)

Current Winners

Kerri Sakamoto

Kerri Sakamoto is a Toronto-born author of three novels: The Electrical Field, One Hundred Million Hearts, and Floating City. Her first book was nominated for several honours, including a Governor General’s Literary Award, and received the Commonwealth Prize for Best First Book (overall). In addition, The Electrical Field was selected for the Canada-Japan Literary Award in 2000. Her books form a trilogy exploring the experience of Japanese in Canada.

Jacynthe Tremblay

Jacynthe Tremblay is a researcher at Nanzan University in Nagoya, Japan. With a dual specialization in the philosophy of religion and in Japanese philosophy, she is best known for disseminating the philosophy of Kitarō Nishida (1870-1945) in the Western world through a series of books and translations. Her current research focuses on the influence of the Theory of Relativity and of quantum mechanics (mainly Niels Bohr) on the development of Nishida’s philosophical concepts during the latter part of his life (1932 to 1945). 

Read more about Kerri Sakamoto and Jacynthe Tremblay

What is this prize?

The Canada-Japan Literary Awards recognize literary excellence by Canadian writers and translators who write, or translate from Japanese into English or French, a work on Japan, on Japanese themes or on themes that promote mutual understanding between Japan and Canada.

Prize amount

Two prizes valued at $10,000 each (one English-language work and one French-language work).

How to qualify

Nominations must be submitted to the Council by a professional book publisher.

A peer assessment committee will select the recipients from among all nominations received.

For eligibility criteria, the nomination form and further information on these prizes, see the Canada-Japan Literary Awards Guidelines and Form.



Who created this prize?

Funding for the Canada-Japan Literary Awards comes from the investment returns on the portion of the Japan-Canada Fund set aside as a perpetual endowment for a literary award.

Further Information

Luiza Pereira

Program Officer

E-mail: canadajapan-prizes@canadacouncil.ca

613-566-4414, ext. 4086

Toll free: 1-800-263-5588, ext. 4086

TTY: 1-866-585-5559

Next Deadline

September 2020


Prize Amount


By Nomination


Nomination Form (DOC)

Note that the updated guidelines will be posted two months prior to the deadline.

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.