1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Governor General's Literary Awards

NOTE: New deadlines and eligibility period.

The 2022 competition will include books published between August 1, 2021, and July 31, 2022. Nominations will be accepted starting in January 2022, when the 2022 guidelines and nomination form are to be posted.

Governor General's Literary Awards

ggbooks.ca logo


The Canada Council for the Arts celebrates the best in Canadian literature: our Governor General’s Literary Awards recognize finalists and winners in seven categories, in both official languages, for readers of all ages.

Visit ggbooks.ca to discover our best books!


What is this prize?

The Governor General's Literary Awards are presented in recognition of the best English-language and best French-language book in each of the following seven categories: Fiction, Literary Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Young People's Literature – Text, Young People's Literature – Illustrated Books and Translation (from French to English and vice versa).

How to qualify

Books must be submitted to the Canada Council by an eligible publisher.

See the guidelines for eligibility criteria.

Who created this prize?

In 1936, His Excellency the Right Honourable John Buchan, Lord Tweedsmuir, was approached by members of the Canadian Authors Association to establish a system of literary prizes. He agreed to lend the name of his office in order to stimulate writers and encourage a deeper interest in their work among the general public. As a result of these talks, the Governor General's Literary Awards were created. In 1959, the Canada Council for the Arts assumed responsibility for them and added prizes for works written in French. In 1987, three categories were added: Translation and the two children's literature categories (text and illustration), which are now known as Young People’s Literature – Text and Young People’s Literature – Illustrated Books.

For more information

Lori Knoll

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414 ext. 5573

Next deadline

February 2022


Prize amounts

$1,000 -

  • Winning books: 14 awards of $25,000 and a $3,000 grant to each publisher
  • Finalists: $1,000 per book

By nomination

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.


For people who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or TTY users, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact us.

Canada Council also welcomes VRS (Video Relay Service) calls. For more information, please visit the VRS Canada website.