1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. J.B.C. Watkins Award: Architecture

J.B.C. Watkins Award: Architecture

Jonathan Kim

Jonathan Kim

Photo: Amalie Tilma Søndergaard

Current Winner

Jonathan Kim

Jonathan Kim is an architecture student pursuing graduate studies at the Royal Danish Academy in Copenhagen, Denmark. He has previously studied at Carleton University (BAS) and has worked in architecture firms in Canada, Norway and the UK. His current thesis investigations present a transformative timeline for the Faroe Islands, shifting the traditional fishery, aquaculture and processing industries towards the production of lab-grown fish proteins. This proposal promotes ecological restoration of the ocean while preserving the Faroese economy and culinary culture.

What is this prize?

The J.B.C. Watkins Award: Architecture is offered to a Canadian architectural student wishing to pursue postgraduate studies outside Canada, ideally in Denmark, Norway, Sweden or Iceland.

Prize amount

$5,000 each

How to qualify

Apply to the Council.

A peer assessment committee will select the recipient from among all applicants.

For eligibility criteria, the application form and further information on this prize, see the J.B.C. Watkins Award: Architecture Guidelines and Form.




1 October 2020

Who created this prize?

This award is funded by a bequest from the late John B.C. Watkins.

Contact information

Sarah Brown

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 6004

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.