1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. Molson Prizes

Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes

Gordon J. G. Asmundson and NourbeSe Philip

Gordon J. G. Asmundson and NourbeSe Philip

Photo: Trevor Hopkin, University of Regina (top) and Gail Nyoka (bottom)

Current winners

Dr. Gordon J. G. Asmundson (Social Sciences and Humanities)

Gordon J. G. Asmundson, PhD, is a registered doctoral psychologist, a full professor of psychology at the University of Regina and the co-director of the Psychology of Pandemics Network. He is the editor-in-chief of the Journal of Anxiety Disorders and the Clinical Psychology Review. Dr. Asmundson is one of Canada’s most influential mental health researchers. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2009), has received the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) Donald O. Hebb Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Science of Psychology (2014) and was recently invested to the Saskatchewan Order of Merit (2020). Most recently, he has focussed his attention on understanding and developing evidence-based interventions regarding the mental health consequences of COVID-19 and has already gained international renown for this work.

For more information about Dr. Asmundson's work, visit the Psychology of Pandemics Networkwebsite.

NourbeSe Philip (Arts)

Born in Tobago, M. NourbeSe Philip (PWA – Poet Without Ambition) is an unembedded poet, essayist, novelist, playwright and independent scholar who lives in the space-time of Toronto. A former lawyer, her published works include the award-winning YA novel Harriet’s Daughter, the seminal poetry collection She Tries Her Tongue; Her Silence Softly Breaks, the speculative prose poem Looking for Livingstone: An Odyssey of Silence, and her genre-breaking book-length epic Zong!. M. NourbeSe Philip is a Guggenheim and Rockefeller fellow (Bellagio) and in 2020 was the recipient of PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature.

For more information, visit M. NourbeSe Philip’s website.

Read more about the 2021 winners

What is this prize?

The Canada Council for the Arts Molson Prizes are awarded to two persons – one in the arts and the other in the social sciences and humanities, who have distinguished themselves by their outstanding achievements. The prizes are intended to encourage ongoing contributions to Canada's cultural and intellectual heritage.

These prizes are administered by the Canada Council in collaboration with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). The winners are chosen by a peer assessment committee, which is appointed jointly by the Canada Council and the SSHRC. 

Who created this prize?

These prizes are funded by an endowment from the Molson Foundation.

For more information

Jill Zmud

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 4086


October 2021


Prize amount

$50,000 each

2 prizes valued at $50,000 each:

  • 1 prize in the arts
  • 1 prize in the social sciences

By nomination

Updated guidelines will be posted 2 months prior to the deadline. Submit your nomination by email.

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.




For people who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or TTY users, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact us.

Canada Council also welcomes VRS (Video Relay Service) calls. For more information, please visit the VRS Canada website.