1. Funding
  2. Prizes
  3. York Wilson Endowment Award

York Wilson Endowment Award

Bev Koski, Hotel Carpet, The Shining; Striped Robe in Blues c. 1979; My Red Gingham Shirt c. 1979 and Mom’s Dress c. 1971, 2018. Beads, thread.

(Clockwise from top left) Bev Koski, Hotel Carpet, The ShiningStriped Robe in Blues c. 1979My Red Gingham Shirt c. 1979 and Mom’s Dress c. 1971, 2018. Beads, thread. 

Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid

Current Winner

The Textile Museum of Canada (Toronto, Ontario) received the 2020 York Wilson Endowment Award, which funded the acquisition of six pieces from Vancouver-based Anishnabekwe artist Bev Koski’s 2018 Beaded Sampler Series: Hotel Carpet, The Shining; Striped Robe in Blues c. 1979; My Red Gingham Shirt c. 1979; My Favourite Pantsuit c. 1976; Tie, Barney Miller, c. 1975; Mom’s Dress c. 1971.

In her catalogue essay for the 2018-19 Textile Museum of Canada exhibition “Beads, they’re sewn so tight,” guest curator Lisa Myers speaks of how Koski’s practice extends Anishinaabe visual language through a context of materiality, abstraction, modernism, and the language of pattern: “Their titles reveal a narrative of place and time, calling attention to the abstract patterns and colours that surrounded the artist during her childhood in Northern Ontario. Koski isolates abstract and geometric designs from the clothing in family photographs and popular culture and presents them in a minimalist, reduced form. There is humour in her choices of patterns paired with the modernist display strategies of a simple white mat and framing device.”

Read more about the Textile Museum of Canada


What is this prize?

The York Wilson Endowment Award enables art museums and non-profit public art galleries to purchase original works by living, contemporary Canadian painters and sculptors.

Who created this prize?

This award is provided thanks to investment proceeds from the York Wilson Endowment. The endowment was established at the Canada Council for the Arts in 1997 by a generous donation from the late Lela Wilson and the late Maxwell Henderson to honour the contribution of Canadian painter York Wilson (1907-1984) to the field of visual art by encouraging and promoting artworks created by Canadian painters or sculptors.

For more information

Jennifer Cherniack

Program Officer, Prizes


1-800-263-5588 (toll-free) or 613-566-4414, ext. 5265


April 2021


Prize amount

Up to

By application

Updated guidelines will be posted 2 months prior to the deadline. You can submit an application to yorkwilson-prizes@canadacouncil.ca.

Cumulative list of winners

We are committed to equity in all our activities, including the administration of our prizes and awards.


For people who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or TTY users, please use your preferred MRS (Message Relay Service) or IP service to contact us.

Canada Council also welcomes VRS (Video Relay Service) calls. For more information, please visit the VRS Canada website.